Liquid memories

Do you remember…

Remember the nights you stood awake,

The flights you did not take and remained by my side.

Do you remember seeing my wings folding?

You tried pushing to unfold them back.

You thought my happiness was your responsibility.

Do you remember when we met, you were all red,

I were all in my own shades of numbness.

Following my flow, you felt caught.

Did not expect to find a hollow shell.

For years it has been emptied and filled with dirt.

You leapt in fast and left your print, you fought,

So I remember…

The memories of you I still retain.

A guardian of thoughts keeps telling me

He can’t hold on its integrity,

For they are like a watercolor painted messy canvas,

Rain pouring through and on.

Water’s dragging all the life full colorshapes

Into the river, my river, of tears and sweat

I remember…

You had become my teacher, no intention,

It was your ego projecting your imagination,

Hopes and dreams on everyone you could catch.

But who would listen?

Do you remember it was me? I were to match

Your own possibilities, your capabilities.

I became the cavity you poured your thoughts in.

I did the same, you did learn nothing.

I was not teaching, I groped in the darkness,

Took whatever came and threw it into your shape:

My shame,

My hopes,

My parasites,

I blame

Not you.

3 thoughts on “Liquid memories

  1. I enjoyed reading this poem so much!
    “I remember”, is something so many people can and will say in their lifetime, it’s just how, what, we remember that stays with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

